African Electric
LATEST NEWS: - News from 2011/12

  • African Stars won the NPL League Cup after beating SKW 1-0 at the Independence Stadium on Sunday.
  • Fußballer starten mit Liga-Pokal in neue Saison - AZ12.09.2012
SKW Homepage
NPL offices are at the NFA Soccer House
Katutura - Windhoek North - Tel:  +264 61 224773 - Fax: +264 61 223106

Namibia est. 1951

Fußballer starten mit Liga-Pokal in neue Saison - AZ12.09.2012

Tigers und Chiefs eröffnen dreitägigen Wettbewerb – Cymot SKW gegen Tura Magic – Ramblers trifft auf Meister Black Africa
Die zwölf Vereine der Fußball-Premierliga (NPL) tragen an diesem Wochenende im Independence-Stadion den Liga-Pokal aus. Eine Woche vor Beginn der Punktspiele dient das neu eingeführte Turnier den Mannschaften als Generalprobe unter Wettkampfbedingungen.
Der Team-Manager des SKW, Jochen Traut (r.), ringt mit dem Präsidenten von Erstrundengegner Tura Magic, Peter Nakurua, um den Liga-Pokal.
NPL League Cup
Final will be played between 

African Stars 1 Cymot SKW 0

NPL League Cup semifinals
Final score: African Stars 1 - 0 Ramblers
Final Result: SKW 1-0 Orlando Pirates

Pirates 3 Mighty Gunners 0 
Ramblers 1 beat BA 1 on penalties
SKW 2 beat Rundu Chiefs 2 on penalties
Stars 1 Civics 0
Gunners 3 Blue Waters 1
Pirates 2 Arrows 0
SKW 2 Tura Magic 0
Rundu Chiefs 1 (6) Tigers 1 (5)
NPL League Cup goes to African Stars. The picture shows SKW players "Eddy" and "Ballack" two very tired SKW players after their 4th 90minute match that weekend. Stars had only three matches as the team had a buy in the first round. Both teams didn’t had much energy left and presented a poor final.

Stars win NPL League Cup - Submitted by Helge Schutz, 09/16/2012

African Stars won the NPL League Cup after beating SKW 1-0 at the Independence Stadium on Sunday. Rudi Louw scored the winner on 30m when he ran onto a centre by Clarence Foroma to beat Charles Uirab with a close range shot. Stars were deserved winners as they dominated possession, but their strikers had an off day, wasting numerous goal scoring chances. Ikuaterua Tjozongoro missed at least three clearcut chances, while he also hit the post, while Riaan Cloete had a shot cleared off the line.

But despite their wastefulness, they were not much troubled by SKW and held on to win the first title of the 2012/13 season. Stars received the winners trophy and N$50 000 while SKW received N$20 000. With Bradley Wermann and Riaan Cloete pulling the strings in the midfield, Stars regularly tested SKW’s defence. Tjozongoro twice came close in the opening 20m before Louw opened the scoring on 30m. Despite suffering from a thigh injury and not at his best, Louw once again displayed his big match temperament when he popped into the box to stab home a centre by Foroma. For SKW, Mekondjo Tobias and Edy Mangoumou worked hard in the midfield but they created few chances and seldom threatened Stars’ defence which was well marshalled by Pat Uanivi and Chris Katjiukua. Riaan Cloete had a shot cleared off the line by Festus Scheepers midway through the second half, while Edwin Korukuve also came close in the final stages when he shot wide from close range.

In the semifinals, Stars beat Ramblers 1-0 after a first half goal by Riaan Cloete, while SKW beat Orlando Pirates 1-0 after a 35th minute goal by Mekondjo Tobias. Pirates wasted an opportunity to draw level on 81m when they won a penalty but Virgil Vries’ spot kick was saved by Charles Uirab.

In first round matches, Rundu Chiefs caused the first upset of the tournament on Friday night when they beat Tigers 6-5 on penalties after a 1-1 full time draw. Tigers took an early lead through Edward Asino, but Chiefs drew level through a great freekick by Erasmus Katjimune, four minutes into the second half.  In the penalty shootout Tigers captain Willem Mwedihanga hit the post, while Chiefs’ captain Erasmus Someno blasted Chiefs’ final shot home to secure Chiefs’ victory.

SKW beat Tura Magic 2-0 after two goals in the final five minutes by Elvis Tjivasera and Mike Sinvula. Orlando Pirates beat Eleven Arrows 2-0 through goals by Stanley Kamesiepo and Ronaldo Tsowaseb while Mighty Gunners beat Blue Waters 3-1. Gunners’ goals were scored by Percy Khairabeb, David Anton and Albert Oxurub, while Jason Ekandjo scored for Blue Waters. African Stars beat Civics 1-0 through a great freekick by Meraai Swartbooi that curled around the wall, while Ramblers beat Black Africa on penalties. In the quarterfinals on Saturday evening, SKW beat Rundu Chiefs on penalties while Pirates beat Mighty Gunners 3-0.

The lineups:

Charles Uirab
Titus Nailonga
Elvis Tjivasera
Theunny Thomas
Jarurako Uahupirapi
Edy Mangoumou
Festus Scheepers
Mekondjo Tobias (45min Wesley)
Simeon Tjiueza
Mervin Nguvauva (75min Sinvula)
Petrus Naftalie

Max Mbaeva
Chris Katjiukua
Denis Tjetinda
Pat Uanivi
Johannes Seibeb
Riaan Cloete
Rudi Louw
Bradley Wermann (82min John Novengi)
Freedom Puriza
Clarence Foroma (67min Korukuve)
Ikuaterua Tjozongoro

30min Goal : Foroma passes to Rudi Louw in box and he beats Uirab from close range. 1-0 Stars